life and times of a lazy cook

figuring out life and my way around the kitchen, one misadventure at a time.

just me.

so since i started this blog i’ve been struggling to define exactly what i want this space to be. exercise, weight loss and health are truly very important to me, but i’m also at the stage of my journey where i am under 20 pounds away from my goal weight,  happy and motivated to integrate exercise into my daily life, and eating a healthy, balanced diet comes pretty naturally. in essence, i think i “got it”. knock on wood.

in truth, losing weigh hasn’t been that hard for me. although i was over weight, it was pretty much entirely due to the fact that i just really didn’t think or care about what went into my mouth. the way i felt/looked and what i ate were not connected yet in my brain.

then all of a sudden i realized my health was something to value and nurture with smart eating and regular exercise. once i made that connection and got used to the new array of foods i should eat; fruits, veggies, whole grains and lean proteins, i made the switch and soon things just fell into place.

don’t get me wrong, i am very grateful i’ve never had issues with food other than liking it a lot, and i am so appreciative of and awed by others who share their struggles on the internet, the most public of venues. but that’s not my story.

in short; i think about food and care about the food i put in my body. a lot. i care about my own health a lot. but i’ve reached the point in my journey where i am no longer self-conscious about my body (most of the time). i have a normal healthy weight. i crave a run when i miss too many. this holiday season, i proved to myself that i can handle those moments in life full of goodies while essentially maintaining my weight.

but food is a part of my life, food is not my life. exercise is a part of my life, exercise is not my life.

so in being authentic to myself as a person, this blog is not going to be strictly an account of my daily eating and exercising habits–although that will happen. i am so much more than that, and since i view this place as an extension of myself, the rest will inevitably be reflected.

i hope you enjoy getting to know me beyond my love of baked tofu, oatmeal and steamed broccoli!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “just me.

  1. I love, love, love this post! I had a similar experience when I started blogging. At first, I felt like I should document everything I ate and the workouts that I did like other “healthy living bloggers,” but now I write about what I want. Some days that is what I ate or how much I sweat, but other days, it is something totally different. Rock on!

  2. aw thank you! you’re too sweet! i really appreciate it…..it’s a little daunting to enter this whole health-blogging world and try to carve out a place 🙂

Leave a Reply

