life and times of a lazy cook

figuring out life and my way around the kitchen, one misadventure at a time.

spaghetti squash tacos.

so i’ve been having a little adventure–going vegetarian during the week. i LOVE meat, but hate cooking it. i refuse to touch raw chicken (and i actually don’t even like chicken enough of spend the money/effort cooking it) and i generally don’t want to spend the money on seafood or red meat.

also my parents have made me really picky about the meat i eat–they buy theirs exclusively from the farmer’s market and when i’m home we only go out to eat at places with grass-fed/farm-raised yummies.

long story short i’m constantly in search of yummy, unique veggie friendly recipes. i can only eat tofu stir fry so many times.

so needless to day i was really excited she my friend meghan texted me last week about the awesome spaghetti squash tacos she had just made. yes, my friends and i text about things like spaghetti squash. cool, i know. while i had already done my major cooking for the week i was eager to try this magical healthy mexican food.

i adapted my version off of this one i found on all recipes.com (my bible) http://allrecipes.com/recipe/spaghetti-squash-tacos/detail.aspx.

i headed to whole foods and got yellow corn taco shells, refried beans, tj’s light mexican cheese, scallions and a fancy schamcy taco sauce to jazz it up.

um. delicious. this is definitely going to be my standard mexican mean form now on. i stuffed the taco shells a little too much, so by the last taco it was pretty soggy. but it actually really didn’t bother me. SO. YUMMY. wohoo! i’m going to have it again tomorrow night as leftovers and freeze the rest of the batch.

typical "i couldn't wait to take a picture before eating" half devoured dinner photo

also i went running today and it was one of the best runs i’ve had in a while. i’ve been little lost/distracted with school and life things. so i went to the gym today determined to run a 5k without walking breaks. and i did! in 29 minutes and 26 seconds.

then i walked .4 miles and ran another mile. AT A 9:13 PACE! which is the fastest i’ve ever run. yay me! this makes me optimistic for my weigh in on friday since it felt really natural to be running that fast soooooo hopefully that means the scale will be down.

in other news my brother-in-law just texted me asking for gift ideas for my sister so i will be spending the afternoon shopping for her! yay! definitely in the holiday spirit.

also……the most exciting news of all……a week from now i will be at home! celebrating christmas/my sister’s birthday/winter break!

needless to say, i’m a very happy alice.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

